2022 Reading Challenge

2022 Reading Challenge
Jill Elizabeth has read 5 books toward her goal of 260 books.
hide

Excerpt: The Codebreaker’s Secret by Sara Ackerman

About the Book

Dual-timeline historical fiction for fans of Chanel Cleeton and Beatriz Williams, THE CODEBREAKER’S SECRET is a story of codebreaking, secrets, murder, romance and longing.

1943 HONOLULU

Cryptanalysist Isabel Cooper manuevers herself into a job at Station Hypo after the attack on Pearl Harbor, determined to make a difference in the war effort and defeat the Japanese Army by breaking their coded transmissions. When the only other female codebreaker at the station goes missing, Isabel suspects it has something to do with Operation Vengeance, which took out a major enemy target, but she can’t prove it. And with the pilot she thought she was falling for reassigned to a different front, Isabel walks away from it all. Continue reading Excerpt: The Codebreaker’s Secret by Sara Ackerman

Guest Post: What’s With All the Mafia Stories?by Mark Rubinstein, Author of Assassin’s Lullaby

Today I’m pleased to introduce you to Mark Rubinstein, whose new novel Assassin’s Lullaby is one of the latest in a long line of “mob stories” – this time, focusing on the Odessa mafia. Here he offers his thoughts on why stories of organized crime are so well-entrenched in our culture – and imaginations… Enjoy!

The Guest Post

What’s With All the Mafia Stories?
by Mark Rubinstein, Author of Assassin’s Lullaby

Whether it’s The Godfather, Goodfellas, Casino, Scarface, Breaking Bad, The Sopranos, a Jack Reacher novel, or crime novels by Don Winslow, Nelson DeMille, Dennis Lehane, James Patterson, or other bestselling authors, the mafia will likely make an appearance.  Continue reading Guest Post: What’s With All the Mafia Stories?by Mark Rubinstein, Author of Assassin’s Lullaby

Book Review: The New Neighbor by Karen Cleveland

Ok, seriously? And is it going to be a series?? As a general rule, I love Karen Cleveland spy stories. She tends to tell a compelling tale that is fast-paced and easy to fall into. But sometimes she does seem to go a little farther into suspension of disbelief territory than even a willing reader finds palatable – and such was the case with this book. Continue reading Book Review: The New Neighbor by Karen Cleveland

Excerpt: The Librarian Spy by Madeline Martin

About the Book

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Last Bookshop in London comes a moving new novel inspired by the true history of America’s library spies of World War II.

Ava thought her job as a librarian at the Library of Congress would mean a quiet, routine existence. But an unexpected offer from the US military has brought her to Lisbon with a new mission: posing as a librarian while working undercover as a spy gathering intelligence. Continue reading Excerpt: The Librarian Spy by Madeline Martin

Book Review: Lessons in Chemistry by Bonnie Garmus

I may literally be the only person who didn’t like this book. And it pains me to say that, because there was a lot about it that I really liked. But 20% in i felt like I’d read the same general plot points six or seven times already – and could not imagine forcing myself to do so for the next 3/4 of the book…. Continue reading Book Review: Lessons in Chemistry by Bonnie Garmus