2022 Reading Challenge

2022 Reading Challenge
Jill Elizabeth has read 5 books toward her goal of 260 books.
hide

Book Review: Scarlet in Blue by Jennifer Murphy

This was a really excellent story that drew me in with its compelling characters, who were able to hold my attention despite an unfortunate slow-down in the middle that felt a little unnecessarily labored. (And how absolutely evocative and intriguing is that cover? I was immediately drawn to it – and rest assured, it delivers every bit of the surprising exuberance that the cover suggests.) Continue reading Book Review: Scarlet in Blue by Jennifer Murphy

Book Review: The Woman in the Library by Sulari Gentill

I really really really liked he way this one started (and the cover – I LOVE the cover). I feel like I say that about Gentill’s work often. Equally often, I seem to find myself struggling a bit with the wind ups she offers… That was the case here also. Continue reading Book Review: The Woman in the Library by Sulari Gentill

Book Review: A Mirror Mended by Alix Harrow

I absolutely adore this series! I have struggled with fractured or reimagined fairy tales over the years. I’m drawn to them conceptually, but so often they just don’t hit the right tone for me, leaving me more than a little Goldilocks-ish (this one is too similar, this one too different; this one is trying to hard, this one is not trying hard enough). Continue reading Book Review: A Mirror Mended by Alix Harrow

Book Review: The Monster’s Bones by David K. Randall

What an absolutely fascinating story this was! I listened to this one, and it’s the first non-fiction book I’ve done in audio. I wasn’t sure if it would work well, since my attention wanders more with audiobooks, since I tend to multi-task while listening. I was worried that a non-fiction story, requiring more attention to detail, might be problematic and I would find myself floundering to keep the details straight. Not so at all with this incredible tale from David K. Randall! Continue reading Book Review: The Monster’s Bones by David K. Randall

Excerpt: Good Husbands by Cate Ray

About the Book

For fans of Whisper Network and My Dark VanessaGood Husbands is an electrifying psychological drama about three strangers drawn together by a shocking revelation about their husbands, and the power of women to reclaim their voices and control their own destinies.

He said, she said. Who do you believe?

Jessica, Stephanie, and Priyanka are complete strangers, but they have one thing in common: More than two decades ago, unbeknownst to them, their husbands committed a terrible sexual assault. Was it really rape, or a night of drunken regrets—just a horrible misunderstanding? It was a secret that remained buried, until… Continue reading Excerpt: Good Husbands by Cate Ray